Office bearers | History | Activities | Members list | Honours & awards | Progress of Alumni Association | Application Form

Progress of Alumni Association

After sixteen years of itís initiation, on 30th November 1985 the Alumni Association was registered (No. S/50599 of 1985-86), under Society and Company Act of the Government of West Bengal. Its Memorandum of Understanding clauses was approved in a general body meeting by more than fifty alumni, The clauses therein include- to perform social and academic activities including holding of Annual Reunion, to establish contact and communication amongst alumni, to help students and research scholars with stipend, to organize lectures at school and colleges, to publish annual souvenir, journals and newsletter, to promote afforestation activity, to popularize botany amongst school and college students, to appoint staff, etc. The Association is fulfilling the objective of that Memorandum.

After the sad demise of Professor Amiya Kumar Ghosh, Dr. Gopal Chandra Mitra became the President of the Association. After his sad demise in 1992 Professor Arun Kumar Sharma became the President of the Association.

After the annual reunion of the botany department, in 2005, alumni in general became interested to enroll themselves as members of the association. In this context the first Council Meeting of the Alumni Association was held on 16th June 2005, under chairmanship of Prof. A. K. Sharma. At present total members of the Association are over 350. Since 2007, to celebrate World Environment Day annual tree plantation program is being organized by the Association. In 2006, the Pallav, official mouthpiece of the Alumni Association, started coming out, once in a year, with list of members and activities of Association.

In 2007, the Executive Council members were Arun Kumar Sharma (President), Asok Kumar Biswas (General Secretary), Salil Kumar Chaudhuri, Subhendu Mukherji, Rajat Kanti Chaudhuri, Nirmalendu Samajpati, Ila Chaudhuri, Prabir Kumar Ganguly, Asim Kumar Bhadra, Animesh Ghorai, Santinath Sarkar, Bidyut Kumar Biswas, Arun Kumar Dutta, Madan Mohon Bhattacharyya, Swapan Kumar Bhattacharyya, Timir Baran Jha, Ruma Pal, Rita Kundu, Nanda Dulal Paria, Anil Manna, Karabi Datta and Samita Biswas.

Biodiversity Board of the Government of West Bengal sanctioned a project to the Association, in 2009. A website entitled was hosted by the association in 2007. An updated correct list of nearly 3000 alumni has been prepared by the present Executive Committee. The same may be forwarded to the Calcutta University for replacing the existing Botany Alumni list.

Together with the active association of the faculty and students of the Department of Botany this committee organized this committee centenary events of the department, starting September 14, 2013 through September 2014, under the Chairmanship of Professor Arun Kumar Sharma, one of the senior-most alumni of this department. Some of the Associationís activities during the Centenary Celebration of the Department of Botany at the University of Calcutta are, organizing Centenary Program on Tree Plantation on September 21, 2013, a trip to Sunderbans on February 8th and 9th 2014, and celebrating National Science Day on February 28, 2014.

Access denied for user ''@'localhost' (using password: NO)
News & Events